
July 10, 2025 Board Meeting – Proposed Rules  

The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (Board) proposes the following changes 
to the rules: 

• 511.51 concerning Educational Definitions  

Some schools use the term “upper level accounting or business courses” and others 
use the term “upper division accounting or business courses. This proposed 
amendment makes it clear that both are accepted as having the same meaning in the 
Board’s rules. 

• 511.52 concerning Recognized Institutions of Higher Education 

The proposed amendment is a grammatical change. 

• 511.53 concerning Evaluation of International Education Documents 523.118 
concerning Limitations of Courses 

The amendment proposes to relocate Board Rule §511.59 to Rule §511.56 for a better 
fit, eliminates Board Rule §511.60 which is outdated and no longer effective, and 
revises Board Rule §511.59 to provide for the 120-semester credit hour pathway to 
certification. 

• 511.54 concerning Recognized Texas Community Colleges  

The amendment proposes to eliminate the no longer effective Board Rule §511.60, 
incorporates the statutory language “Courses in an Accounting Concentration to take 
the UCPAE” for certification, and to incorporate the three semester hour ethics course 
offered at community colleges for individuals studying to become certified through the 
120-hour pathway. 

• 511.56 concerning Educational Qualifications under the Act to take the UCPAE 

The amendment proposes to publish the criteria for certification through July 31, 2026 
and the criteria for the additional pathway created in the Public Accountancy Act 
effective August 1, 2026. 

• 511.57 concerning Qualified Accounting Courses to take the UCPAE. 

The amendment proposes to eliminate the no longer effective Board Rule §511.60 and 
incorporates the dates for existing criteria for certification and the added criteria for the 
new pathway toward certification. 

• 511.58 concerning Definitions of Related Business Subjects to take the UCPAE 

The amendment proposes to require at least 21 hours of upper level courses to sit for 
the UCPAE with no more than six credit hours in any of the listed subjects and a course 
that is repeated may only be counted as once toward the 21-hour requirement. 



• 511.59 concerning Definitions of 120 Semester Hours to take the UCPAE.523.118 
concerning Limitations of Courses 

The amendment proposes to establish the criteria for certification with the 120-hour 
pathway effective August 1, 2026. It requires 27 upper level hours of accounting 
courses and a three-semester hour board-approved standalone course in accounting or 
business ethics taken at a board-recognized educational institution. 

• 511.60 concerning Qualified Accounting Courses Prior to January 1, 2024 to take 
the UCPAE 

The repeal deletes Board Rule §511.60 which automatically expired by board rule on 
January 1, 2024. 

• 511.164 concerning Definition of 150 Semester Hours to Qualify for Issuance of a 
Certificate 

These revisions propose to clarify the criteria for certification with 150 approved 
semester hours and the criteria effective beginning August 1, 2026. 

• 512.1 concerning Certification as a Certified Public Accountant by Reciprocity 
 
The National Qualifications Appraisal Services (NQAS) of NASBA has had the 
responsibility to determine if another jurisdiction has substantially equivalent licensing 
requirements as Texas. That responsibility has been removed from the Texas Public 
Accountancy Act during the recent legislative session. The proposed revisions to §512.1 
reflect that legislative revision.  
 
• 512.2 concerning NASBA Verified Substantially Equivalent Jurisdictions 
 
The Board is proposing the language in §512.2 that addresses the role of the National 
Qualifications Appraisal Services to be repealed since that responsibility has been 
removed by the Texas Legislature. 
 
• 512.4 concerning Application for Certification by Reciprocity 
 
With the removal of the responsibility of determining the substantial equivalency of out 
of state regulatory programs from the National Qualifications Appraisal Services, 
language is being removed from §512.4 to reflect that legislative directive. 
 
Language is also added to require the verification of the education, and experience of 
an out of state licensee as well as the status of the license from the licensee’s 
regulatory authority. This is the result of removing NQAS responsibility. 
 
• 513.11 concerning Qualifications for Non-CPA Owners of Firm License Holders 
 
The Board is proposing a revision to §513.11 to make it clear that a non-CPA firm 
owner must be a Texas resident. This is a statutory requirement. 
 



• 515.8 concerning Retired or Disability Status 
 
A licensee taking retired status may not be associated with the practice of public 
accountancy. The proposed rule makes it clear, however, that a retired CPA may verify 
the work experience requirement of a candidate to become a CPA if the experience was 
received when the retired CPA was not retired.  
 
• 517.2 concerning Practice by Certain Out of State Individuals 
 
The Board proposes to: 
 
1. delete the reference to the National Qualifications Appraisal Services, which 
language the legislature removed from the Act; 
2. clarify that the Board will allow licensees to practice in Texas without a reciprocal 
license, in order to provide for “mobility”, so long as the state they are licensed in has 
substantially the same licensing requirements as Texas; 
3. reflect that if an out of state licensee held the substantially equivalent out of state 
license on December 31, 2024, the licensee would be permitted to practice under 
mobility without a reciprocal license. This protects those licensed out of state on that 
date, if the state they were originally licensed in, is subsequently determined to not have 
substantially equivalent licensing requirements. 

• 523.112 concerning Required CPE Participation 

The Board proposes to revise Board §523.112 to clarify that an applicant for 
reinstatement must have at least 120 hours of CPE within the last 36 months from the 
date of the application for reinstatement with 20 of those continuing professional 
education (CPE) hours having been completed within the 12 months preceding the 
application for reinstatement. 

• 523.113 concerning Exemptions from CPE 

The Board is recommending a revision to §523.113 to clarify that a faculty member is 
not considered to be in the practice of public accountancy when the faculty member 
only provides instruction in accounting courses. The faculty member loses this 
exemption from continuing professional education (CPE) and licensing when holding out 
to be a CPA when providing his expertise as a CPA while not providing instruction in 
accounting outside of the educational course work setting. 

• 523.118 concerning Limitations of Courses 

The proposed rule revision limits the total number of hours a licensee may apply toward 
one certification program to 20 hours. (An example of a certification program is Certified 
Financial Planner). It also limits the total number of continuing professional education 
(CPE) credits from a certification program to no more than 50 per cent of the total CPE 
credits applied in a three-year reporting period. 

 


